What are the penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey?

  • New Jersey does not permit limited licenses to allow those convicted to travel to work or school.
  • Depending on their blood alcohol reading, for a first offense DWI in New Jersey, a person may face a penalty of being suspended from operating a motor vehicle up to 3 months or between 7 and 12 months.
  • If a person is convicted a second time, the penalty for suspension goes up to two years.
  • On a third or subsequent offense, the suspension period is 10 years.
Cohn, Lifland, Pearlman, Herrmann and Knopf LLP